Dystopian Palestinian Novel Wins 2018 Arabic Book Prize

Palestinian-Jordanian novelist Ibrahim Nasrallah won the International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) with a novel about humanity’s capacity for savagery.

The Second War of the Dog was announced as the winner on Tuesday at a ceremony in Abu Dhabi.

Classified as of dystopian literature, the book tells the story of an opponent of a regime who descends into brutal nihilism.

The author commented on his book by saying: it is

The chair of the judging panel, Ibrahim al-Saafin said:

Nasrallah’s was among a shortlist of six books, which were selected out of 124 entries from 14 countries participating in the competition. The award is affiliated with Britain’s Man Booker Prize.

The Palestinian Ministry of Culture said in a statement:

This is the second time a participant from Palestine wins the Arabic book prize, which has been running for the 11th year since its inception in the gulf state. Palestinian author Rabai al-Madhoun’s Destinies: Concerto of the Holocaust and Nakba was named for it in 2016.

The ministry statement added:

Minister of Culture, Ihab Bseiso, applauded the success:

He stressed that,

Born in Amman 1952, award-winning Nasrallah grew up in the Al-Wihdat refugee camp with his parents who survived the 1948 Nakba. He wrote several well-acclaimed and translated poetry and novels and short stories including Time of White Horses (2007), which was shortlisted for the IPAF award in 2009, and The Lanterns of the King of Galilee (2011).

Source: Palestine Chronicle